Compatible Software Updates UPDATED!

Did Software Update suprise you with some, well, updates? Check here to see if they are compatible. πŸ˜€

All these updates are safe for Mini 110, latest ones at the top:

  • Java for Mac OS X Update 5 version 1.0
  • iTunes version 9.0.1
  • Security Update 2009-005 version 1.0
  • Airport Utility Software Update 2000-002 version 5.4.2
  • Safari version 4.0.3
  • Quicktime version 7.6.4
  • iLife Support version 9.0.3
  • Front Row Update version 2.1.7
  • Remote Desktop Client Update version 3.3.1
  • Mac OS X Update 10.5.8 (see below if you are on 10.5.7 or lower)

All these updates will work with no issues on our netbooks, so don’t be afraid, go ahead and install them πŸ˜› (Extra steps needed for 10.5.8 upgrade, see below.)

UPGRADE TO 10.5.8: So, more and more reports are coming in that the Mac OS X 10.5.8 Update can be installed with no bad effects. I decided to go for it and install it, and it worked great in the end. So, you can go ahead and select the Mac OS X 10.5.8 update in Software Update. After it installs and it reboots, you will notice that your screen resolution is smaller again, WiFi doesn’t work, and other things. Relax! The only thing you need to do is reinstall the kexts that are included in the HP Mini Essentials .zip file.Β  Here’s how to re-install the kexts, taken from the OS X Install Guide:

Open up OSX86Tools again (HP Mini Essential Files > OSX86Tools_1.0.150 > OSX86Tools.app ) and reinstall all the kexts in the kext folder.

  1. Click on β€œInstall kexts” towards the bottom right.
  2. Find the kexts folder on your flash drive. Select the first one. This time, select all but one kext – Do not install the AppleIntelGMA950 kext. It will disable your screen.
  3. Shift+Click the last one to select all.
  4. After the installer completes, it will ask you to reboot. Go ahead and reboot.
21 Responses to Compatible Software Updates UPDATED!

  1. widefire says:

    Good day! Thank you for your install guide. I have followed your instructions to the letter and my HP Mini 1030CA is working flawlessly.

    The only thing I have done differently is that I use the combo update for 10.5.8 and everything is working fine.

    Thank you once again for your great site. It’s in my bookmarks πŸ˜‰

    • Bryan says:

      Thanks! I have a few other reports from users running 10.5.8, so I have changed this post as well as the guide to recommend installing 10.5.8. Oh, I installed it as well. πŸ™‚

  2. widefire says:

    The best way is to download the Combo Update and save it with the rest of the needed file on a USB memory stick.

    That way, you save one step and save on bandwith if your install goes wrong.

    Have a great day!

  3. Bryan says:

    Sleep does not function for me, does sleep work for you under 10.5.8?

  4. widefire says:

    Yes it does. It wasn’t before I reinstalled all the kexts.

  5. widefire says:

    Wow man! You are trully devoted to this cause!

    Keep up the good work! I brick my little mini yesterday when trying to upgrade to snowy.

    I can’t wait to get it to work!

    • Bryan says:

      So, you attempted to install Snow Leopard? How did it go? (well, obviously, bad, but…) Did you get it to boot? Where did it lock up? You should post your findings over at MyHPMini.com!

  6. great site !!! thx for all the info, i’m still on the downloading process for ideneb (in Indonesia you got much trouble for downloading 4,3gig in one shot).

    just confirming, i read in many forum that their ethernet does not work in hackintosh, you do have a fix for that right ?

    btw i’m on HP Mini 110-1013TU any problem particular to this model ? I really hope the download will soon finish so i can join further discussion.

  7. Bryan says:

    No, sorry, there are no kexts that currently enable the ethernet ports on our Mini’s. Sorry, the ethernet does not work with OS X on our Mini’s.

  8. Larry says:

    When I update to 10.5.8, and when it gets to 28 percent installed, it crashes and says I need to reboot. When I reboot my system is trashed and I have to reinstall from scratch. Can you help?

  9. Bryan says:

    How are you upgrading? Via Software Update or did you just download 10.5.8 Update from the Apple site? Try MyHPMini.com for more help.

  10. Larry says:

    No good. Same thing. Even 10.5.7 does it. 10.5.7 was downloaded.

    • Bryan says:

      Don’t know what to tell you… As I said earlier, MyHPMini.com might help.

      • Larry says:

        I went to MyHPMini.com and so far no help. On my 1031NR everything works great since I went into com.apple.Boot.plist and changed it to cpus=2. Everything fell into place. It is more reliable now. Since this done now, do you think, 10.5.8 will install now? What did you do?

  11. Larry says:

    Update: Even with the change to com.apple.Boot.plist it still will not upgrade to either 10.5.7 or 10.5.8. I guess I have to stay with 10.5.5 until the problem gets resolved or try to upgrade to 10.6.

  12. Herman says:

    Thanks for the guide. I wouldn’t have got a PC notebook but I noticed the HP Mini and then your guide the same week. Now I have a HP 110 Mini with 10.5.8.

  13. shay says:

    hey Bryan I recently was on this site back in september i had a problem installing Ideneb on my hp mini with a external dvd drive!!! i put it on a 8gb flash drive and it works flawlessly im running at 10.5.8 but i get a kernel panic everyday and my mic/ethernet doesn’t work 😦 kinda bummer but i just wanted to know how do i fix the kernel panic or how do i get rid of it?

Leave a Reply

